Why not step back in time and visit the Coonamble Museum, which outlines the history of Coonamble and its community. Browse the old photos, wares and stables, reading tales of an era gone by in the Coonamble district. The Museum is the former police barracks which was built in 1886. The original brick horse stables have been retained in original form with stalls and feed boxes and are one of only two left in NSW. In 2006-2007 the Museum underwent significant refurbishment. Tour groups, Schools and functions are also welcome by appointment.See some photos
Aberford Street (next to Commonwealth Bank)
PO Box 249 Coonamble NSW 2829
P: (02) 6822 2873
Mon - Wed - Fri (10am-12pm)
If unattended during these days please phone Coonamble Visitor Information Centre (02) 6827 1923 to make an appointment.
ADMISSION: $2 adults; $1 children
PARKING: Access from Skillmans Lane off Castlereagh Street.
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED! Click here for details
two eight two eight
two eight two eight is a coffee shop, gallery, cafe and cinema and is run by community volunteers.Visit Website
Gulargambone River Walk
The riverwalk was a project of Gulargambone CDEP in 2011. The creek was an important location for Aboriginal people and a number of burial sites lie nearby. Aboriginal inhabitants of Gulargambone prior to European settlement were Weilwan people, whose tribal territory extended to Quambone, near the Macquarie Marshes. The tapestry of early life included intricate ceremonies - ‘Boras’ - often involving the neighbouring tribes, the Wiradjuri and Gamilaraay. ‘Scarred’ trees, middens, and other artifacts can be found around Gulargambone, testament to the era. The Castlereagh River, once ‘dotted with campsites’ quickly changed with the advent of European settlement. A way of life that had existed for many thousands of years vanished. Aboriginal people eventually found themselves confined to reserves, where they were split up, losing tribal identity with their ‘dreamtime’ history becoming irreversibly lost.Download
Nickname Hall Of Fame
The Nickname is a mystifying tradition and a national phenomenon. Nowhere are nicknames thicker on the ground that across Australia’s remote rural regions and Coonamble is the capital. You have entered a realm where the ‘real’ names of most of the men and many of the women and children have been forgotten, even by their mothers. Where the need to fill out an official form sends them searching for their birth certificates. Where even local landmarks, buildings and businesses are known by names other than those their owners gave them. Nothing and no-one is safe.
Australia’s streets are littered with abbreviated surnames and Coonamble has its share of Jackos, Robbos, and Thommos. But it is in the paddocks and stockyards, over outback bars and fishing eskies, where the tradition of bestowing nicknames long ago exceeded a form of convenience and become an artform.
Coonamble’s talent for nicknames is tied to our bi-cultural history. The early explorers, settlers, and stockmen discovered the keen sense of observation and dry humour of the inland’s Indigenous inhabitants. “All white men who were much with the blacks were given a native name referring to their habits or appearance.” Soon, they had nicknames that translated to ‘hungry crow’ or ‘lizard dung’.Download
Anything is fodder for the nicknaming wits of Coonamble – a personal mannerism, a once-mentioned mistake, one mis-pronounced word, an unusual physical characteristic, a fashion faux pas, a sporting slipup, or a midnight misjudgement. A nickname may last a day, a week on the job … or many generations.
Coonamble is the Nickname Hall of Fame. Take a stroll to see the billboards scattered around the streets and get to know some of our stories. Or stay for a while and get to know us. Join us in celebrating the lives of the local larrikins and regional rogues, who give and receive the most inventive and unique Nicknames in Australia.